IFT First Annual Event and Expo was held July 16-19, 2023 in Chicago, IL. TAMU Food Science and Technology department was featured prominently in multiple areas. Additionally, Two FSTC faculty received 2023 IFT Achievement Awards at the event.

IFT Achievement Awards

The IFT Achievement Awards recognize an individual or team for remarkable contributions in research, applications, and service in the science of food profession.

We are very proud of two of our faculty members that received the IFT Achievement Awards this year!

Mian Nadeem Riaz, PhD, received the International Food Security Award in honor of Bor S. Luh.

Rebecca A. Creasy, PhD, received the Excellence in Education Award in honor of William V. Cruess.

Please click Here to view the AgriLife Today article on Dr. Riaz and Dr. Creasy!

Food Chemistry Division- Graduate Student Oral Competition winner!

Cyprian Syeunda, a Food Science and Technology PhD Candidate under Dr. Joseph Awika, received 1st place in the annual IFT First 2023 Food Chemistry Division Graduate Student Oral competition for his research work “Effect of cereal-derived flavonoids on Maillard reaction product formation”

Smart Snack for Kids- Third place Winners!

The IFTSA Smart Snacks for Kids Competition challenges students to develop a fun and nutritious food or beverage product targeted at kids and/or teens. Products must abide by the USDA “Guide to Smart Snacks in Schools” recommendations.

The TAMU team won 3rd place in the competition with their Critter Crackers product!

FSTC Undergraduate students: Jahlia Davis, Maddie Shults, Corey Le, Osasere Igbinoba and Jacob Mitchell participated in the competition!

Research Poster Competition

Three FSTC graduate students presented their research during the poster competition at IFT FIRST.

College Bowl

The team from Texas A&M Food Science department who won First prize in the South Central Regional College Bowl competed in the Nationals at IFT First.

Team- Maddie Shults, Allison Brenner, Shreya Veeravelli, Gabrielle Scott, Seyra McCullough, Colton Cheever, Andrew Maust, Haeley Tercek, Grace Spencer, Katie Mullen, Moni Fadamiro and JP Arevalo.
Dr. Rebecca Creasy – Advisor.

Panel Discussions

Dr. Suresh Pillai was part of a panel discussing non-thermal food processing technologies such as eBeam technology during the Institute of Food Technologists (IFT) FIRST Annual Event